For my Mummy Dearest

Today is my mom’s birthday, so this one goes out to her. I hesitated to dedicate such a messy mani, but since accepting weird, unintentionally Picasso-inspired art projects as gifts is kind of what moms are supposed to do, I figured this was more than appropriate:

For those who might want to recreate it, the procedure goes as follows:

  1. Cut a tissue into thin strips, about two or three millimeters wide, then separate the layers and set aside. The cheap, non-fuzzy type works best.
  2. Apply a base coat, then from here on out work on one nail at a time.
  3. Apply one coat of a white or off-white polish. (I used Nubar White Peony.)
  4. Work quickly while the nail is damp to lay the strips of tissue across the nail. If the nail starts to dry, lightly dab on some more white polish as you go. This also helps to get overlapping strips to stay down.
  5. Use stork scissors, or other small scissors to trim the strips of tissue along the walls of the nail. The scissors are also helpful in pressing down the strips as you lay them down, without smudging the polish underneath.

And that’s it! Don’t use a top coat because it will make the strips transparent. While this isn’t the most durable manicure, it’s not one of those that turns you into a completely helpless person either. I was still able to open a can of lemon La Croix, and you can get the nails wet as long as you just gently pat them dry.

Peace & love (and happy birthday, Mummy!),
Sonja

This entry was posted in fall, Halloween, holidays, nail art, seasonal. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to For my Mummy Dearest

  1. colourcoated says:

    Haha, this is so cute and creative! Love it!

  2. Debbie Spray says:

    It’s a graveyard smash! Thank you, baby – I love you!

  3. Aunt Vicky says:

    Too cute! Love the punnery. (but I’ve got nothin…) So what are you dressing the rest of you up a for Halloween?

  4. How adorable! What a cute manicure–and a sweet birthday sentiment for your Mum :) I don’t care how old I get, any handmade gift from my kids will be treasured!!

  5. Axelle says:

    I’m going to make this for halloween !
    Thank you !!

  6. Susy says:

    That’s really cool and different from any “mummy” manis I’ve seen before! It looks great! :)

  7. ILoveCupcakes :D says:

    OMGGGG!
    hahaha, loving the pun and the wild idea.

  8. Airpan says:

    Way cool! Gonna have to try this for Halloween this year!

  9. Hey there! I just wish to give you a huge thumbs up for your excellent info you have got right here on this post. I am coming back to your web site for more soon.

  10. Kate says:

    I love this!! I cant wait to try this out on halloween!

  11. Pingback: Manic Monday Mani: Mummified Halloween Nail Design | Dime on a Dime

  12. kim says:

    I love these.

  13. TAYLOR says:

    love them very creative!

  14. nail and spa says:

    By trying to safe $10 you could end up spending $100 on medical bills and medication

  15. nail and spa says:

    Having really beautiful nails make your hands look extremely attractive and elegant and sets off your rings and jewelery

  16. Pingback: Fashion Friday: Halloween Nail Art | Mom Spark™ - A Blog for Moms - Mom Blogger

  17. Pingback: Ghastly Halloween Nail DIY Designs | JD LuxeJD Luxe

  18. Pingback: 25 Clever Nail Ideas For Halloween | TokNok Multi Social Blogging Solutions

  19. Pingback: halloweenhelp: Mummy nails – Peace Love Polish Follow for… | Super Fly Nails

  20. Pingback: Easy DIY Halloween Nail Ideas

  21. Pingback: Halloween nails - Bath & Unwind Beauty Blog

  22. Pingback: Halloween Nail Tutorials - Hairspray and Highheels

  23. Lisa Jane Gomez Girl says:

    Hey! I love the mummy nails but they are so stupid. It looks like you’re so dumb that you can’t even use a striper to stripe on white on black. Yours is messy and stupid. I own EVERY dotting tool and striper and every nail polish on earth, I’m so good at nails. Ta-ta and try to make yourself sound somewhat smart next time. Hahahaaah

    • Jessie says:

      Lisa Jane Gomes girl don’t be mean!!!!!! She is so cool and bragging isn’t nice. Stop right now!!! I hope you understand that if I said what you said to her to you, you would be fuming. So stop and she’s had many really good nail art. She was trying something cool and new. What’s you problem, Lisa Jane Gomez girl??? Your just jealous.

  24. Pingback: Roundup: 25 Frighteningly Fun Halloween Nail Ideas

  25. Poppy says:

    We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of
    your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for. Do
    you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of
    the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome web
    log!

  26. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My site discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I
    think we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you are interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

