Green river water marble

This past weekend, the Chicago River was dyed green by 40 pounds of vegetable dye as a part of the city’s St. Patrick’s Day celebrations.

Chicago River - March 13, 2011

At first, I was hoping to find a polish in my collection that matched the color of the river. No such luck (new mission – suggestions welcome). But I decided on a more fun way to pull from this inspiration – green water marble!

green river water marble

You might not be too impressed, but I’m pretty satisfied with myself. This is only the second time I’ve attempted water marbling, and the first time I’ve actually committed to completing a mani. And I think it coincided with my initial inspiration pretty well.

bottles L to R: G+L Ivy League, Zoya Ivanka, Zoya Tangy, SpaRitual Emerald City

For the base I used three coats of Ginger+Liz Ivy League. For the marbling I used Zoya Ivanka, Zoya Tangy and SpaRitual Emerald City. I think the fact that the colors are all within the same family kind of saves the design, and makes sloppier portions (ahem, index finger) less grotesque.

From chatting with fellow bloggers on Twitter last night, I think there might be a few other green water marbles out there today, so keep an eye out for those and have a happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Love,
Sonja

This entry was posted in Green, St. Patrick's Day, water marble. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Green river water marble

  1. DragonRhia says:

    Very pretty. I was wondering about what a watermarble would look like with a silvery polish like Zoya Ivanka. I really like this. 🙂

  2. I like it. 🙂 I’ll have to try water marbling again. First try I was happy with it but the technique I used was wrong. LOL!

  3. colourcoated says:

    This is so pretty! I love the colors you chose. It definitely looks better than my failed one, haha

    • Glad you like it! 🙂 I brought all of my green polishes to the dining table and tried a different set of colors on each finger before deciding on these four. It was a messy situation.

  4. Hi, I’m Hazelle. =)

    The nail art’s just awesome. The colors you chose are amazing and the water marbling is lovely. =)

    We, on our site, NaildeRoyale.com, has the passion of promoting beauty and sharing the essence of having high quality products especially nail products and nail art. It will be a great honor if you will consider adding our link to your website.

    Here’s our site’s link:
    NaildeRoyale.com

    Please let me know if considering our link interests you. I’d be glad to mail you couple nail art products from our website.
    Thanks and keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

