Zoya Mod Mattes – Swatches & Review

Zoya was full of surprises for me this summer. The first of which is a mini collection of matte polishes. I thought these were a thing of the past, but Zoya’s giving it another go.

All of these swatches required three coats. I didn’t use a base coat, but put a top coat on my ring finger.

As it is Pink Wednesday, let’s begin with Lolly.

Zoya Lolly

Unfortunately, this collection is a total streak fest. I tried Lolly with a base coat to see if it helped, and it only made it worse. It’s too bad, because this pink would be so cute and toy-like if it finished smoothly.

Zoya Mitzi

The formula on Mitzi was just as bad. And since these are mini bottles, I don’t think the brush helped the application situation. The grayed out electric lime color is an interesting color though.

Zoya Phoebe

Last but definitely not least, Phoebe. While she’s definitely not perfect, she is the redeeming polish of the collection. With tiny blue sparkles packed into a sheer blue base, Phoebe has the same lit from within look as Zoya’s original Matte Velvets. It’s still streaky, but acceptable when finished with a top coat.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Sorry to say, this collection is a flop. And while Phoebe pulls through, it’s not ideal. If anyone can recommend a base coat that makes these work, please share!

Zoya polishes are vegan, big 4-free, and do not contain Camphor.

Zoya retails at $8 for .50 oz.
The three piece collection of Mod Matte minis (.25 oz) retails for $15.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Zoya Mod Mattes – Swatches & Review

  1. Streakfest? Aiee….I might have to bow out on getting this after all. I HATE streaks. 😦

  2. Zara says:

    I’m not 100% sure it would work, but you might try using Seche Vite as a base coat for these. I’ve discovered that it works as a base for GOSH Holographic, which is super streaky over normal base coats, so it might work for these as well. I hope it does!

  3. colourcoated says:

    That stinks that these are so streaky, especially cuz I love the colors. 😦 I haven’t tried mine yet. I love how you used a top coat to accent your ring finger though. Such a cute idea!

  4. Thanks for the swatches! Phoebe is such a pretty color! It’s a bummer that they are streaky. Poor application drives me nuts! 😦

  5. Pingback: Zoya Summertime – Swatches & Review | peace love polish

Leave a Reply

